OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Library Electronic Resources Updates

MathSciNet - New URL
MathSciNet has improved global access to their database by moving to a cloud-based site.  They have updated their url from http://www.ams.org/mathscinet to https://mathscinet.ams.org/mathscinet
New resource: Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni to replace Lexis Nexis Academic Universe - Fall 2017
Try out the new Nexis Uni before it officially launches!

Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

New resource: Tests in Print
The OU Libraries' subscription to the Mental Measurements Yearbook database has been expanded to include Tests in Print.

Tests in Print is a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. It contains descriptive information, including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication dates, and test authors.

This resource is also listed on the Databases A-Z page.

Content change: Avon
July 12, 2017: As part of its semi-annual content review, Alexander Street Press removed 1150 content items from a range of publishers - including videos, audio and scores - from their products. These changes affected the following library databases:
  • AVON (Academic Video Online)
  • Classical Scores Library, Volume 1
Platform change: Scitation
Scitation, the science publishing platform supported by AIP (the American Institute of Physics) has migrated its platform. We are updating our link resolvers, knowledge base, and other e-resource tools, and are monitoring this process to ensure a smooth transition. This should be a seamless process for most users but some complications may arise.
Note:
  • Scitation hosts journals published by a number of professional societies, including AIP and the Acoustical Society of America.
  • Links to individual journals, articles or collections that appear on a web page or in Moodle will need to be updated; fortunately, old URLs will temporarily re-direct to the new platform.
  • The new proxied journal URLs can be obtained from the eJournals A-Z list.
Please contact us if you encounter any problems. 
Questions or problems regarding OU Libraries' electronic resources? Contact us!
There is no scheduled maintenance at this time.
Questions or problems regarding OU Libraries' electronic resources?
Contact us!
Linking from Library OneSearch to Ebsco
Library OneSearch occasionally fails to successfully link to articles in EBSCO databases. Instead, you may receive an error message similar to the screen below:

Linking issues like these can occur for a variety of reasons.  To locate the article you are trying to access, you can click on "Browse Journal" and search by the Volume, Issue, and/or Page number to locate the specific article:


You can also contact the Electronic Resources team to report this issue by completing the form located at https://library.oakland.edu/forms/eresources_error.php  We can research and report these issues to our vendors to improve linking in the future.
 
ProQuest Ebook Central
We have come across an issue with linking to eBooks on the ProQuest Ebook Central platform.  When clicking on the link in the catalog or Library OneSearch, you may receive the following error message:  "Sorry, this book is not available. Please contact your librarian about purchasing it, or search for another book."

If two links appear in the Library OneSearch results, please try both links.  Alternatively, you can click on "Search" to search for the book direclty on the Ebook Central platform.


 
Google Scholar
We have received reports from patrons who are having problems accessing Google Scholar from off-campus when using the link from the Databases A-Z page. If you encounter problems, you can still access Google Scholar directly at http://scholar.google.com. See our guide to adding OU Libraries resources to Google Scholar
Harvard Business Review
We recently received an inquiry from a patron who was having difficulty linking from Library OneSearch to an article in the Harvard Business Review (HBR), which is included full-text (1985-present) in Business Source EliteHBR does not allow openURL linking from external sources; therefore citations to HBR articles in Library OneSearch will not link directly to the full-text article. To access content from the Harvard Business Review, search or browse the journal directly.
ScienceDirect
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Science Direct  (2/13/2017) Users have intermittently received the following error message when linking from Library OneSearch to ScienceDirect:


The vendor is working to resolve this issue ASAP. In the meantime, try this workaround:



Click on the "Browse" link in the sidebar. This will take you to the journal's main page, from which you can search for the specific article.
Questions or problems regarding OU Libraries' electronic resources? Contact us!
Q: I am having a problem linking to resources from Library OneSearch, is there anything I can do?

A:  Occasionally you may have a problem linking from Library OneSearch - you may receive a blank screen, you may be directed to the wrong article, or you may receive an error message.  Here are some suggestions to resolve these issues.

Many times when you have a problem, a sidebar will appear to the right of the screen.  This offers some tools to help you troubleshoot on your own, or contact us if you need further assistance.


 
Q: I have a link to an article from one of the library's databases but I can't access the article when I'm off campus. Help!

A: To access the library's electronic resources from off-campus, you will need to add a proxy prefix to the resource's URL. Paste your URL to an article, journal, database, etc. in the search box at the site below, and then copy the new URL for use off-campus.

http://library.oakland.edu/services/materials/proxy_it.php

Questions or problems regarding OU Libraries' electronic resources? Contact us!

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News