OU Libraries
OU Libraries

LIBRARY GUIDE TO LGBTQ Health

HEALTH & HEALTH DISPARITIES
Assessing Race, Ethnicity and Gender in Health by Sana Loue (Springer, 2006) [eBook]

Best Inclusion Practices: LGBT Diversity by Margarita Alonso (Palgrave Macmillan, 2012) [eBook]

CDC, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health

Center of Excellence for Transgender Health (University of California-San Francisco) - provides programs, resources, and services for health care providers, researchers, community organizers, and transgendered persons
 
Collecting Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity in Electronic Health Records: Workshop Summary by Joe Alper, Monica N. Feit, and Jon Q. Sanders (Institute of Medicine, National Academies Press, 2013) [eBook]

Comprehensive Care of the Transgender Patient, edited by Cecile A. Ferrando (Elsevier, 2020) [ebook]

Fenway Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health, 2nd edition edited by Harvey J. Makadon, Kenneth H. Mayer, Jennifer Potter, Hilary Goldhammer (American College of Physicians, 2015). Print copy also available for checkout on Kresge Library 3rd Floor, RA 564.9 .H65 F46 2015

Health and Wellness Concerns for Racial, Ethnic, and Sexual Minorities edited by Joshua C. Collins, Tonette S. Rocco, Lawrence O. Bryant (Jossey-Bass, 2014). Location: 1 copy available for checkout on Kresge Library 3rd Floor, RA448.4.H39 2014

Health Care Disparities and the LGBT Population edited by Vickie L. Harvey and Teresa Heinz Housel (Lexington Books, 2014). Location: 1 copy available for checkout on Kresge Library 3rd Floor, RA 564.9.H65 H42 2014

Health Issues Confronting Minority Men Who Have Sex with Men edited by Sana Loue (Springer, 2008) [eBook]
 
Health of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People: Building a Foundation for Better Understanding by the Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health Issues and Research Gaps and Opportunities and Board on the Health of Select Populations (Institute of Medicine, National Academies Press, 2011) [eBook]
 
 
Lesbian Health: Current Assessment and Directions for the Future edited by Andrea L. Solarz (Institute of Medicine, National Academies Press, 1999) [eBook]

LGBT Psychology: Research Perspectives and People of African Descent by Michele K. Lewis and Isiah Marshall (Springer, 2012) [eBook]

MedlinePlus.gov, GLBTQ+ Health

Sexualities and Identities of Minority Women edited by Sana Loue (Springer, 2009) [eBook]

Substance Use Disorders in Lesbian, Gay, Bixsexual, and Transgender Clients by Sandra C. Anderson (Columbia University Press, 2009) Location: 1 copy available for checkout on Kresge Library 3rd Floor, HV 4999 .S49 A53 2009
HEALTH CARE ACROSS THE LIFESPAN
CHILDREN & YOUTH:
American Academy of Pediatrics Policy Statement - Office-Based Care for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Questioning Youth

CDC, LGBT Youth Resources 

CDC, Adolescent & School Health - Health Considerations for LGBTQ Youth

Healthychildren.org, Gender-Diverse and Transgender Children (American Academy of Pediatrics)

StopBullying.gov, LGBTQI+ Youth

The Trevor Project Founded in 1998 by the creators of the Academy Award®-winning short film TREVOR, The Trevor Project is a national organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to LGBTQ young people ages 13-24.

                            
ADULTS & FAMILIES:
CDC, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health

CDC, Resources for Parents, Guardians, & Family Members

LGBT-Parent Families: Innovations in Research and Implications for Practice edited by Abbie E. Goldberg and Katherine R. Allen (Springer, 2013) [eBook]

Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) - Practitioner's Resource Guide - Helping Families to Support their LGBT Children (download eVersion for free)


OLDER ADULTS:
Fenway Health - LGBTQIA+ Aging Project is a non-profit organization who seeks to ensure equal access to programs and services for the aging LGBT adults.

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Ageing: Biographical Approaches for Inclusive Care and Support edited by Richard Ward, Ian Rivers, and Mike Sutherland (Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2012) [eBook]

The Lives of LGBT Older Adults: Understanding Challenges and Resilience edited by Nancy A. Orel and Christine A. Fruhauf (American Psychological Association, 2014) Location: 1 copy available for checkout on Kresge Library 3rd Floor, HQ 76.27 .O44 L58 2015       

National Resource Center on LGBTQ+ Aging - “…the first and only technical assistance resource center focused on improving the quality of services and supports offered to lesbian, gay, bisexual and/or transgender older adults, their families and caregivers.”

 
LGBTQ HEALTH IN UME CURRICULUM
AAMC, Diversity and Inclusion Video Learning Series - online, on-demand video resources on a range of diversity and inclusion topics including LGBT health.

AAMC, Diversity and Inclusion Clinical Vignettes - short videos with accompanying discussion questions showcasing physician-patient communications in the care of LGBT health populations.

The Equal Curriculum: The Student and Educator Guide to LGBTQ Health by James R. Lehman et al. (Springer, 2020) [ebook] - serves as a foundation for LGBTQ health education across multiple disciplines.

National LGBTQIA+ Health Education Center (The Fenway Institute) - provides a variety of informational resources including learning modules, videos, suggested readings, and more on LGBTQIA+ health appropriate for any level.

Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) - LGBT Training Curricula for Behavioral Health and Primary Care Practitioners - list of professional training curricula on LGBT health.
 
Research Assistance
Ask-a-Medical-Librarian
  • by phone at 248-370-3772
  • via email at medref@oakland.edu
  • in person in the Medical Library Office (7:30am-6:00pm)
Research Consultation
Request a one-on-one meeting with a medical librarian to discuss in-depth information needs such as the literature search for your Capstone project.
FINDING SCHOLARLY LITERATURE
Databases

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff GenderWatch
Database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas - including health and wellness. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years.

PubMed (MEDLINE) PubMed also includes studies related to LGBTQ Health. Suggested MeSH search terms: "Gender Identity"[Mesh], "Health Services for Transgendered Persons"[Mesh], "Homosexuality, Female"[Mesh], "Homosexuality, Male"[Mesh], "Transgendered Persons"[Mesh], "Sexual and Gender Minorities"[Mesh].

Health-Related eJournals
> Gender Medicine: 2004 - 2012 (discontinued)
> Journal of Gay & Lesbian Mental Health: 2008 - present
> LGBT Health: 2014 - present

General eJournals:
> Gender & Society: 1987 - present
> Gender Issues: 1997 - present
STIGMA & VIOLENCE
Web Resources:
CDC, Gay & Bisexual Men's Health: Stigma & Discrimination

StopBullying.gov, LGBTQI+ Youth

The Trevor Project Founded in 1998 by the creators of the Academy Award®-winning short film TREVOR, The Trevor Project is a national organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to LGBTQ young people ages 13-24.

WomensHealth.gov, Surviving an Abusive Relationship

Books & eBooks:
Handbook of LGBT Communities, Crime, and Justice edited by Dana Petersona and Vanessa R. Panfil (Springer, 2014) [eBook]
    Chapters of Interest: 
  • Bias Crimes Based on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity: Global Prevalence, Impacts, and Causes
  • Marking 35 Years of Research on Same-Sex Intimate Partner Violence: Lessons and New Directions
  • Bullying of LGBT Youth in America: Prevalence, Effects, and Government Responses 
  • Examining Dating Violence and Its Mental Health Consequences Among Sexual Minority Youth 
That's so gay! Microaggressions and the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Community by Kevin L. Nadal (American Psychological Association, 2013) Location: 1 copy available for checkout on Kresge Library 3rd Floor, HQ 73 .N24 2013
OU LIBRARIES' SPECIAL COLLECTION
Robert Gaylor Special Collection includes more than 3,200 books and other materials focusing on gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) people and issues. The collection contains many titles of historical significance related to GLBT lives.

 

Edit