OU Campus Map
Campus Map: This website provides directions to OU, as well as information about the Bear Bus and its map, OU locations in Macomb County, parking, and printable maps.
Online Maps and Atlases
- Library of Congress Map Collections - A vast collection of maps, easy to browse and fully searchable. Includes historical and recent maps.
- US Bureau of Land Management Official Federal Land Records Site - Live access to Federal land conveyance records for the Public Land States, including image access to more than five million Federal land title records issued between 1788 and the present. Also includes images of survey plats and field notes, land status records, and control document index records.
- US Census Bureau's Geography Program - Geospatial information, reference files, maps and more generated by the US Census Bureau.
- American Geographical Society Library Digital Map Collection - Contains over 14,000 maps, depicting regions from all over the globe. Includes historical and recent maps.
- Big Ten Academic Alliance Geoportal - Provides discoverability and facilitates access to geospatial resources selected and curated by librarians and geospatial specialists at twelve research institutions in the Big Ten Academic Alliance. The resources include GIS datasets, web services, and digitized historical maps.
- Princeton University Library Digital Maps and Geospacial Data - Containing over 85,000 maps available to the public, this massive database is fully searchable by keyword or clickable map. Highlights a vareity of topics and includes vector data, raster data and Sanborn maps.
- Mapmaker Interactive - National Geographic's interactive map website.
- ArcGIS Living Atlas of the World - A vast collection of maps, easy to browse and fully searchable highlighting a vareity of topics.
- Digital Public Library of America Maps - Open access map materials indexed from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country.
- Google Maps - Zoom in to any U.S. location or retrieve driving directions between two addresses (or two street intersections or two towns). Display options include a generic street map, a street map underlaid by aerial photography, and in some cases an oblique view.
- 50States - 50states is the best source of free maps for the United States of America. It also provide free blank outline maps for kids, state capital maps, USA atlas maps, and printable maps.
Online Historical Atlases
- University of Texas Map Collection - A good source of historical maps and information.
- Yale University Beinecke Digital Library: Maps - A good source of historical maps and information.
- Library of Congress Sanborn Map Collection - These historical fire insurance maps provide highly detailed information.
- NOAA Historical Map and Chart Collection - Covers the land and waters of the United States of America, including territories and possessions (past and present). The images are free to download and use it for any purpose.
- West Point Department of History Atlases - Features military campaign atlases offered as a part of the department's outreach program.
- Old Maps Online - A search engine indexing over 400,000 maps from participating libraries and archives.
- History Matters Maps Online - Identifies several key collections of historical maps.
- Historical Atlas of the Twentieth Century - Features numerous maps on a wide variety of topics. Also includes and extensive collection of links to additional resources.
Online International Maps and Atlases
- Afriterra - Contains more than 5,000 historical maps focused on Africa.
- Stanford University Maps of Africa Online Exhibit – Contains nearly 1,200 maps of Africa on a variety of subjects.
- Europeana Maps and Geography - Explore history, geography and cartography through the digitized collections of European cultural heritage institutions.
- Japanese Historical Maps Collection of the East Asian Library at UC Berkeley - Contains about 2,300 early maps of Japan.
Geologic, Hydrologic, and Topographic Maps
- US Geological Survey - Offers a range of geologic maps, topographic maps, geospatial map applications, and more.
- The National Geologic Map Database - Archive of standardized geoscience information that includes geologic and topographic maps from USGS, the U.S. Geologic Names Lexicon ("Geolex") and more.
- The National Map - A suite of products and services that provide access to geospatial information to describe the landscape of the United States and its territories, it uses easy to navigate foundational base maps and makes it simple to interact with available data themes to create your own map.
- Hydrological Investigations Atlas - Maps on topographic or planimetric bases presenting a wide range of geohydrologic data.
- Great Lakes: An Environmental Atlas And Resource Book - Pubished jointly by the EPA and the Government of Canada, this publication contains extensive, detailed maps and information about the Great Lakes. Digital version, available to view online or download as a PDF.
Digital Mapping Tools
- ArcGIS StoryMaps - Allows users to generate and publish custom interactive maps with multimeda and text elements.
- Harvard University WorldMap - An open source web mapping system designed to support discovery, investigation, analysis, visualization, communication and archiving of multi-disciplinary, multi-source and multi-format data, organized spatially and temporally.
- Neatline - A suite of add-on tools for Omeka, Neatline is a geotemporal exhibit-builder that allows you to create complex maps, image annotations, and narrative sequences. A project of the Scholars' Lab at the University of Virginia Library.
- OpenStreetMap - An open source world map, data from OpenStreetMap is free to use it for any purpose as long as you credit OpenStreetMap and its contributors.
- QGIS - A free and open source Geographic Information System that allows users to create, edit, visualise, analyse and publish geospatial information.
- City-Roads - Draws a map of all roads within a given municipality. Users can customize the colors of the map and save as a raster or vector image.
- Peak-Map - Shows elevation of any area on the globe with filled area (ridgeline) charts. Users can customize the height scale and save as the map as a raster or vector image.