OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Using Multimedia in the Classroom

Getting Help Using Technology in Teaching
Where on campus to go for ....
Help with Moodle, Elluminate, espace, eportfolio
e-Learning and Instructional Support (e-LIS)
Also support for Second Life, i>clickers, iTunesU, podcasting, Camtasia, coverting classes to online format.
Online Moodle Help form

Help with classroom technology: 
Classroom Support and Instructional Technical Services
Also provides Multimedia, video services, and equipment rentals
Online Help form

Help with email, file storage, Banner, account set-ups, networking, phones:
University Technology Services  (UTS; see Core Services list)
Contact the Helpdesk at (248) 370-HELP or helpdesk@oakland.edu

Help with incorportating digtial resources into courses: Contact Amanda Nichols Hess, OU Libraries' e-Learning, Instructional Technology, and Education Librarian

Help with putting information on the web for the public to view:
University Communications & Marketing
UC&M oversee the university’s online presence and any OU webpage. Any online communication (web page, podcast, video, etc.) accessible to the general public and not intended strictly for classroom use, except personal web pages, must be reviewed and approved by UC&M before it is made public.

 
Tech Help for Students
Information Commons Tech Support at the Kresge Library
Students can get assistance with most major computer programs and wireless printing.
List of supported software


Student Technology Center at the Oakland Center
Offers training, hands on support and equipment rental.
List of supported software & programs.
  • 44 Oakland Center, Phone: (248) 370-4TEC (4832)
  • Email: stc@oakland.edu Location and hours
Where to go for...
Finding Images
GENERAL SUBJECTS
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ARTstor
    ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Berg Fashion Library
    The Berg Fashion Library includes the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, eBooks, reference works, images, and more.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Communication & Mass Media Complete  includes the Image Quick View Collection, which contains images, graphs, maps, diagrams
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Credo Reference  - Image search includes content from a collection of reference titles such as the Britannica Concise Encylopedia images and others
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text  includes the Film Image Collection
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Oxford Art Online  provides access to Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Reveal Digital: Independent Voices
    A growing collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers of the independent alternative press of the 1960s-1980s. Good primary sources for the history of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Sharpe Online Reference  includes a broad range of events, people, movements, and political, social, economic, and cultural issues from earliest times to the present day

MEDICAL IMAGES
Several of our databases include images that can be used for health- or medically-focused instruction.

  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AccessMedicine
    This is a collection of 60 full-text medical and basic sciences books from McGraw-Hill, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Health Reference Center Academic
    Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information. How to export to RefWorks
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thieme Teaching Assistant: Anatomy
    Access to images for download, manipulation, or live presentation.

FREE ONLINE RESOURCES

  • American Memory Project, from the Library of Congress
    American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
  • Flickr creative commons
    An online social media source providing access to image collections made available for use by Flickr users under a Creative Commons license. You can browse or search through content under each type of license.
  • NewMediaRights.org
    Maintains a more extensive list of free resources
Finding Videos, Audio, and Music
GENERAL SUBJECTS
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Academic OneFile  
    Thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN and CBC, links to hundreds of videos on medical procedures from OR-Live
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AVON: Academic Video Online
    A multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Look for specialized collections (Theatre in Video, Opera in Video) under Advanced Search.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff NAXOS Music Library
    A collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 262,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. While listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.8 concurrent users at one time. If the limit has been reached, you may see a login screen. This indicates that you should try again later.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff NAXOS Video Library
    An extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries.8 concurrent users at one time. If the limit has been reached, you may see a login screen. This indicates that you should try again later.

MEDICAL SUBJECTS
Several of our databases include videos that can be used for instruction.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AccessMedicine  
    Use the multimedia tab to view available video and audio
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Health Reference Center Academic
    General nursing and allied health topics.
  • Unrestricted Resource MedlinePlus
    National Library of Medicine & NIH resouce, includes videos and interactive tutorials
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Nursing Education in Video
    Online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers.
FREE ONLINE RESOURCES
  • American Memory Project, from the Library of Congress
    American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
  • Creative Commons Music Communities
    List of music communities that utilize CC tools, typically by enabling users to upload content under one of CC free licenses.
  • NewMediaRights.org
    Maintains a more extensive list of free resources

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News