Need to locate online teaching alternatives for your course, clerkship, or elective? This guide is for you! It features links to online cases, online videos, and ready-made teaching materials from our library-subscribed collections as well as other online resources. If you have a recommendation, send us an email!
AccessMedicine - Case Files
McGraw Hill's best-selling book series in online interactive format. This comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.
AQUIFER Clinical Learning - OUWB subscribes to the Internal Medicine, Pediatrics, Radiology, Family Medicine, and Surgery modules. Faculty should consult with their clerkship directors for access.
NEJM Resident 360 Interactive Medical Cases - Check out the list of cases under the Multimedia tab.
McGraw-Hill’s Case Files: Teaching Cases - An online, faculty-sequestered collection of high-quality, peer-reviewed clinical cases that can be incorporated into your curriculum. Cases are available in two versions -- pre-clinical and clinical -- and would be useful in both courses and clerkships to support independent, student-directed learning. Contact Dr. Misa Mi for information on accessing this new teaching resource!
McGraw Hill's best-selling book series in online interactive format. This comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.
AQUIFER Clinical Learning - OUWB subscribes to the Internal Medicine, Pediatrics, Radiology, Family Medicine, and Surgery modules. Faculty should consult with their clerkship directors for access.
NEJM Resident 360 Interactive Medical Cases - Check out the list of cases under the Multimedia tab.
McGraw-Hill’s Case Files: Teaching Cases - An online, faculty-sequestered collection of high-quality, peer-reviewed clinical cases that can be incorporated into your curriculum. Cases are available in two versions -- pre-clinical and clinical -- and would be useful in both courses and clerkships to support independent, student-directed learning. Contact Dr. Misa Mi for information on accessing this new teaching resource!
Clinical Procedure and Physical Exam Videos:
AccessMedicine Prodecure Videos - Multimedia tab has procedure videos in many specialties.
Alexander Street Video
Search across our streaming video collections from Alexander Street Press, including VAST, Nursing Education in Video, and World Newsreels Online. Health sciences collection has videos from practitioners, teachers, and researchers in a wide array of medical fields, including physical assessment, procedures, health policy, etc. Use the search feature to locate videos on specific topics.
Bates' Visual Guide
Streaming videos that accompany the textbook, Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking.
ClinicalKey Procedure Videos - Videos of major procedures and surgeries in most specialities.
NEJM Resident 360 - Videos in Clinical Medicine - Check out the list of videos under the Multimedia tab.
Anatomy & Dissection Videos:
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Three-dimensional videos of expertly dissected human anatomic specimens.
Anatomy & Physiology Revealed - An interactive cadaver dissection experience.
General Videos:
Kanopy Streaming Video - Kanopy is offering temporary free streaming from selected content partners, including all selections in their catalog from The Great Courses. You can browse and access available content from the Kanopy site.
AccessMedicine Prodecure Videos - Multimedia tab has procedure videos in many specialties.
Alexander Street Video
Search across our streaming video collections from Alexander Street Press, including VAST, Nursing Education in Video, and World Newsreels Online. Health sciences collection has videos from practitioners, teachers, and researchers in a wide array of medical fields, including physical assessment, procedures, health policy, etc. Use the search feature to locate videos on specific topics.
Bates' Visual Guide
Streaming videos that accompany the textbook, Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking.
ClinicalKey Procedure Videos - Videos of major procedures and surgeries in most specialities.
NEJM Resident 360 - Videos in Clinical Medicine - Check out the list of videos under the Multimedia tab.
Anatomy & Dissection Videos:
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Three-dimensional videos of expertly dissected human anatomic specimens.
Anatomy & Physiology Revealed - An interactive cadaver dissection experience.
General Videos:
Kanopy Streaming Video - Kanopy is offering temporary free streaming from selected content partners, including all selections in their catalog from The Great Courses. You can browse and access available content from the Kanopy site.
HEAL (Health Education Assets Library) - Hosted by the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digit Library, HEAL is a digital repository that allows medical educators to download and re-use thousands of peer-reviewed medical education resources. Freely available.
Henry Stewart Talks: The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection
A collection of online lectures, many by leading experts in their fields. It includes more than 1,500 presentations on biochemistry; cancer, cell biology; diseases, disorders & treatments; drug discovery; genetics; immunology; methods; microbiology & virology; neurobiology; and pharmaceutical science. This new resource can be used in the classroom setting, in the lab, for research, as part of the curriculum, as a study or reference tool for students, or for personal interest. OUWB Library-subscribed
MedEdPortal - A service of the AAMC, MedEdPortal's purpose is to facilitate “the open exchange of the peer-reviewed teaching resources such as tutorials, virtual patients, simulation cases, lab guides, videos, podcasts and assessment tools.” This is great opportunity for faculty to find, but also publish their teaching materials. Check out the curated collection of Virtual Learning Resources highlighted for use during COVID-19. Freely available.
MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) - Free and open resource of online teaching materials for faculty and students of higher education. This link is to the Health Sciences Portal Page. Freely available.
NEW!
NEJM Group Covid-19 Content and Online Teaching Resources - Links to Covid-19 content from the New England Journal of Medicine, NEJM Journal Watch, NEJM Resident 360, and NEJM Catalyst. Collection includes research articles, education and teaching resources, multimedia, and online journal club discussions. Freely available.
Open Educational Resources (OER) Commons - Contains more than 50,000 examples of learning and teaching materials. The advanced search option allows you to limit to common-core standards, grade level, and primary user (teacher or student). Freely available.
Resident Student Organization - Educational Resources web page - Extensive page of FOAM (free open access meducation) resources organized by topic. Focuses on emergency medicine, but has a section on pediatric emergency medicine. Freely available.
STFM Resources Library - Funded and maintained by the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine. Includes conference presentations/handouts, PowerPoint presentations, learning modules, standardized patient cases, and other curricular materials. Peer reviewed. Freely available.
Henry Stewart Talks: The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection
A collection of online lectures, many by leading experts in their fields. It includes more than 1,500 presentations on biochemistry; cancer, cell biology; diseases, disorders & treatments; drug discovery; genetics; immunology; methods; microbiology & virology; neurobiology; and pharmaceutical science. This new resource can be used in the classroom setting, in the lab, for research, as part of the curriculum, as a study or reference tool for students, or for personal interest. OUWB Library-subscribed
MedEdPortal - A service of the AAMC, MedEdPortal's purpose is to facilitate “the open exchange of the peer-reviewed teaching resources such as tutorials, virtual patients, simulation cases, lab guides, videos, podcasts and assessment tools.” This is great opportunity for faculty to find, but also publish their teaching materials. Check out the curated collection of Virtual Learning Resources highlighted for use during COVID-19. Freely available.
MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) - Free and open resource of online teaching materials for faculty and students of higher education. This link is to the Health Sciences Portal Page. Freely available.
NEW!
NEJM Group Covid-19 Content and Online Teaching Resources - Links to Covid-19 content from the New England Journal of Medicine, NEJM Journal Watch, NEJM Resident 360, and NEJM Catalyst. Collection includes research articles, education and teaching resources, multimedia, and online journal club discussions. Freely available.
Open Educational Resources (OER) Commons - Contains more than 50,000 examples of learning and teaching materials. The advanced search option allows you to limit to common-core standards, grade level, and primary user (teacher or student). Freely available.
Resident Student Organization - Educational Resources web page - Extensive page of FOAM (free open access meducation) resources organized by topic. Focuses on emergency medicine, but has a section on pediatric emergency medicine. Freely available.
STFM Resources Library - Funded and maintained by the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine. Includes conference presentations/handouts, PowerPoint presentations, learning modules, standardized patient cases, and other curricular materials. Peer reviewed. Freely available.
Valerie Reid
Librarian
vlreid@oakland.edu
248.370.3772
Clinical Teaching and Learning Experiences - Collection compiled by educators who sumitted their learning resources in response to COVID-19's impact on clinical medical education. It includes curricular materials in the categories of interpersonal and communication skills, medical knowledge, patient care, practice learning and improvement, professionalism, and systems based practice.
Medical Education Guide (OUWB Medical Library) - provides a list of medical education eBooks, journals, image resources (free & in our collection), and copyright information.
If you are an OUWB clinical faculty member and are using our OUWB Medical Library resources for the first time, you will need to activate your Oakland University accounts.
Visit our Off-Campus Access webpage for step-by-step instructions.
Visit our Off-Campus Access webpage for step-by-step instructions.
Subscription resources (databases, ebooks, journal articles, etc.) may be accessed from off-campus through Kresge Library's proxy server:
1. Paste the URL of a resource in the form below.
2. Click "Proxy It!"
3. Click or copy the Proxied Link displayed on the Kresge page.
4. Test link before posting!
If you have any trouble, contact the Medical Library and we will be happy to provide you with a link that will work!
1. Paste the URL of a resource in the form below.
2. Click "Proxy It!"
3. Click or copy the Proxied Link displayed on the Kresge page.
4. Test link before posting!
If you have any trouble, contact the Medical Library and we will be happy to provide you with a link that will work!