OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Ready Reference

Sources on the Web
 
  • About Women: Biographies of Notable Women  Biographies of famous women, and some not-so-famous, with links to digital texts, more resources, and a calendar. (About.com)
  • Almanac Biography  Search 30,000 short entries from Infoplease.
  • Biography.com   A&E Television Network's Biography, where you can read the first chapters of the top 10 This Month's Bestselling Biographies, as well as a searchable online database of 25,000 of the greatest names, past and present, provided by the Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia.
  • S9.com  S9.com was established in 1997.  It is a Wikipedia type system and everyone can edit biographies or even create their own. 
  • Who2 Biographies Each entry includes birth and death dates, birthplace, what the person is best known for, a couple of paragraphs with assorted other biographical information, and four links to good Web sites.
  • Who's Alive and Who's Dead  Who's Alive and Who's Dead is the best source on the internet for finding out which of the noted personalities of our time are still with us. It also includes birth/death dates and current ages for each person.
OU Subscription Databases
 
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)
    Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series.
Citation Generators
BibMe  
BibMe is a free citation creator and biblography generator, in MLA, APA and Chicago formats. Create a free account to save bibliographies.

NoodleBibExpress 
NoodleBibExpress is a free source for creating bibliographic citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago formats.

Zotero 
Zotero is a free, open source, web-based tool for managing citations, organizing pdfs, and creating bibliographies. Self-guided instruction in the form of tutorials, FAQ, and help are available through Zotero.

Mendeley
Mendeley is a free, web-based tool for managing references, creating bibliographies, and pdf organizer. Self-guided instruction in the form of tutorials, FAQ, and help are available through Mendeley.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff RefWorks is a cloud-based licensed citation management app available free to all Oakland University students, faculty and staff.  It allows you to create a personal list of references and to format your bibliography in any citation style. It can also collect citations from databases and Google Scholar, format bibliographies in lots of citations styles, and works with Word and Google Docs to insert citations and build reference lists as you write. 

Learn How to Use New RefWorks 
(10 videos on specific features)
Citation Style Guides
APA - American Psychological Association MLA - Modern Language Association Chicago Turbian Style Guide Associated Press Stylebook
Writing Center - A great place to find additional information
Careers
  • CareerOneStop - fantastic website from US Department of Labor
  • indeed.com - Looking for a job? You can search job openings by location using this website.
  • O*NET Online - Career exploration from the US Department of Labor
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook - The FIRST place to look! The website describes everything about specific occupations including education, nature of the job, salary, trends, and much more!
  • simplyhired.com - Use this database to find job openings. You'll also find a Salary Exploration tool to help you with salary information.
  • Snag a Job.com - another website filled with job openings.
  • Zip Recruiter - and still another website with job ads.
OU Career information
Newspapers
Spotting Fake News
  • How to Spot Fake News pdf - from the International Federation of Library Associations & Institutions
  • Fake News, Library Guide to - Oakland University librarians have compiled this handy guide.
  • Fake News from Indiana University East Library including: What makes a news story fake? and How to Fact-Check like a Pro.
  • Evaluating sources using the CRAP test: Currency, Reliability, Authority, Purpose
  • Marshall Project - Media Bias/Fact Check
  • PolitiFact - fact checking website from editors and publishers of the Tampa Bay Times.
Grants and Scholarships
Online tutorials and 3D Printing
  • GCFLearnFree - Online tutorials and classes available to provide you with "essential skills" needed "to live and work in the 21st century." This content is provided by the Goodwill Community Foundation and Goodwill Industries of eastern North Carolina.
  • NIH 3D Print Exchange from the National Institutes of Health provides an area to share and exchange 3D printing projects.
Martin Luther King, First Amendment and more

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News